Review of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Committee

1. United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon announced on 10 March 2010 that the InterAcademy Council is requested by the United Nations to undertake an independent review of the processes and procedures of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC). The IAC Co-Chairs have subsequently received official letters, with a Terms of Reference, from Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon and IPCC Chair Pachauri requesting IAC to review the IPCC.

1.1 The InterAcademy Council is requested to conduct an independent review of the IPCC processes and the procedures by which it prepares its assessments of climate change. IAC is asked to establish a Committee of experts from relevant fields to conduct the review and to present recommendations on possible revisions of IPCC processes and procedures. In particular the IAC Committee of experts is asked to recommend measures and actions to strengthen the IPCC’s processes and procedures so as to be better able to respond to future challenges and ensure the ongoing quality of its reports

1.2 Under terms of agreement with the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO), a substantive progress report from IAC is requested by 30 August 2010 in order for IAC recommendations to be available for the October 2010 meeting of IPCC to launch the 5th IPCC Assessment process. A final published report is requested by 30 October 2010.

Committee Board
Chair Person ViceChair Person
Committee Members
Show Members
  • Harold T. Shapiro
    Economist and President Emeritus of Princeton University and the University of Michigan
    Princeton University and the University of Michigan
  • Roseanne Diab
    Executive Officer of the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) and Emeritus Professor and Honorary Senior Research Associate at the University of KwaZulu-Natal in Durban
    Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf)
    South Africa
    Vice Chair
  • Maureen CROPPER
    Professor of Economics
    University of Maryland
    Maryland, United States
  • Carlos Henrique de BRITO CRUZ
    Scientific Director
    São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP)
  • Jingyun FANG
    Peking University
    Beijing, China
  • Louise O. Fresco
    University of Amsterdam
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Syukuro Manabe
    Senior meteorologist at the Program in Atmospheric and Oceanic Science
    Princeton University
  • Jose Mario MOLINA-Pasquel Henriquez
    1995 Nobel Prize in Chemistry
    University of California, San Diego
  • Sir Peter WILLIAMS FRS
    Honorary Treasurer and Vice President of the Royal Society, Chancellor of the University of Leicester, and Chairman of the National Physical Laboratory.
    Royal Society
    United Kingdom
  • Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker
    Secretary General
    Human Frontier Science Program Organization (HSFPO)
  • Abdul Hamid ZAKRI
    Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of Malaysia